Joint Base McGuire-Dix-Lakehurst Draft RFQ

The Air Force Civil Engineer Center has released a draft Request for Qualifications (RFQ) to lease six noncontiguous sites for the development of one or more energy generating facilities at Joint Base McGuire-Dix-Lakehurst, New Jersey. The draft RFQ contemplates utilizing an enhanced use lease to plan, design, permit, finance, build, own and operate one or more combined-cycle gas-turbine (CCGT) facilities and/or renewable energy generation facilities (which could include hybrid CCGT/renewable facilities or solar, geothermal or biomass/waste-to-energy facilities). Under the draft RFQ, the government has the right, but not the obligation, to purchase electricity from the resulting projects.

Interested parties may submit input on the draft RFQ through January 2, 2013. The Air Force then expects to host an industry day at the end of January or beginning of February 2013, after which it will release the final RFQ. The draft RFQ includes detailed information about each of the six sites as well as submittal requirements, and is available here. Parties can add their names to the “Interested Vendors” list at the same website. 

Questions on the draft RFQ should be directed to:

Brooke D. Schmoll
MCFA (Real Estate Support Services Contractor)
101 Kings Highway East
Haddonfield, New Jersey 08033
856-795-6111
bschmoll@mcfaplanning.com
or
Mr. Larry Lucas at larry.lucas.1@us.af.mil

Contact Information 

If you have any questions regarding this update, please contact—

Scott M. Heimberg
sheimberg@akingump.com
202.887.4085
Washington, D.C.

Ian A. Shavitz
ishavitz@akingump.com
202.887.4590
Washington, D.C.

Jena Q. Watson
jqwatson@akingump.com
202.887.4380
Washington, D.C.

Edward W. Zaelke
ezaelke@akingump.com
213.254.1234
Los Angeles - Downtown