Sixty-four U.S. Akin Gump Lawyers Selected as Best Lawyers

(Washington, D.C.) – In its 24th edition, The Best Lawyers in America 2018 has recognized 64 Akin Gump lawyers in nine of the firm’s offices spanning the United States.

Dianne Elderkin and Robin Schachter have been named “Lawyer of the Year” in Pennsylvania and Los Angeles, respectively. This is Ms. Elderkin’s second such recognition in the field of Patent Litigation and Mr. Schachter’s third “Lawyer of the Year” recognition and second for ERISA Law.

Best Lawyers has been published annually since 1983, ranking lawyers solely through peer–review surveys, compiling lists of outstanding attorneys in which thousands of leading lawyers confidentially evaluate their peers.

The following Akin Gump lawyers were named among this year’s Best Lawyers:


Los Angeles

P. John Burke (Entertainment Law – Motion Pictures and Television)
Rex Heinke (Appellate Practice; Litigation – First Amendment; Media Law)
Neal Ross Marder (Mass Tort Litigation / Class Actions – Defendants)
Kevin McBride (Litigation – Patent)
C.N. Franklin Reddick III (Corporate Law)
Marissa Román Griffith (Entertainment Law – Motion Pictures and Television)
Robin Schachter (Employee Benefits (ERISA) Law; Litigation – ERISA)
David Simonds (Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law; Litigation – Bankruptcy)
Edward Woods (Commercial Litigation)
Edward Zaelke (Project Finance Law)

San Francisco

Stephen Mansfield (Criminal Defense: White-Collar)



Garrett DeVries (Corporate Law)
Charles Gibbs (Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law; Litigation – Bankruptcy)
Carl Lee (Real Estate Law)
Daniel Micciche (Tax Law)
Randall Ratner (Real Estate Law)
Terry Schpok (Corporate Law)
Timothy Tehan (Trusts and Estates)


Michael Byrd (Energy Law; Oil and Gas Law)
David Clonts (Litigation – Patent)
Murry Cohen (Appellate Practice; Bet-the-Company Litigation; Commercial Litigation)
Stephen Davis (Corporate Law; Energy Law; International Trade and Finance Law)
Vincent Kendrick (Corporate Law)
Christine LaFollette (Corporate Law)
Thomas McCaffrey (Corporate Law; Real Estate Law)
Michael Swan (Commercial Litigation)
Thomas Weir (Tax Law)
James Wetwiska (Mass Tort Litigation/Class Actions – Defendants)


Charles Everingham IV (Litigation - Intellectual Property; Litigation – Patent)

San Antonio

Kirt S. O'Neill (Corporate Law)
Kim E. Ramsey (Litigation – Patent)


New York

James J. Benjamin Jr. [Criminal Defense: White-Collar; Litigation – Regulatory Enforcement (SEC, Telecom, Energy)]
Ira Dizengoff (Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law)
Philip Dublin (Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law)
Patrick Fenn (Tax Law)
Daniel Golden (Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law)
Fred Hodara (Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law)
Robert Hotz Jr. (Criminal Defense: White-Collar)
Stuart Leblang (Tax Law)
Abid Qureshi (Litigation – Bankruptcy)
Seth D. Slotkin (Trusts and Estates)
Michael Stamer (Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law; Litigation – Bankruptcy)
Stephen Vine (Private Funds/Hedge Funds Law)
Steven Zager (Commercial Litigation; Litigation – Intellectual Property; Litigation – Patent)



David Comerford (Commercial Litigation)
Dianne Elderkin (Litigation – Patent)
Steven Maslowski (Litigation – Patent)
Barbara Mullin (Litigation – Patent)
Angela Verrecchio (Litigation – Intellectual Property)


Washington, D.C.

Scott Alberino (Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law)
Cono Carrano (Litigation – Patent)
Tom Davidson (Communications Law)
Spencer Griffith (International Trade and Finance Law)
Lars-Erik Hjelm (International Trade and Finance Law)
Joel Jankowsky (Government Relations Practice)
Christopher Keough (Health Care Law)
Terence Lynam (Criminal Defense: White-Collar)
Mark MacDougall (Criminal Defense: White-Collar)
Bruce Mendelsohn (Securities Regulation)
Steven Ross (Government Relations Practice)
Michael Rossetti (Native American Law)
Valerie Slater (International Trade and Finance Law)
Randolph Teslik (Criminal Defense: White-Collar)
Kevin Wolf (International Trade and Finance Law)

Founded in 1945, Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP is a leading international law firm with more than 900 lawyers in offices throughout the United States, Europe, Asia and the Middle East.

# # #