The American Health Care Act: Summary of House-Passed Bill to Repeal and Replace Portions of the Affordable Care Act and Next Steps in the Senate

Last week, the House took the first step to repealing and replacing the Affordable Care Act (ACA) by passing a bill titled “The American Health Care Act” (AHCA). On May 4, 2017, after numerous fits and starts over the past several weeks, negotiations and several amendments, Republicans narrowly passed an amended version of the bill by a vote of 217-213.

In the attached summary, Akin Gump examines the key policy changes that result from the AHCA and the bills impact on various health industry stakeholders. A key issue with the AHCA is that the impact of the House-passed version on health coverage and the federal budget remains uncertain, as the Congressional Budget Office (CBO) has yet to complete its analysis of the legislation. The Akin Gump team identifies three key categories of the AHCA’s reforms:

  • changes in coverage and affordability in the (nonpublic) individual and small group insurance markets
  • alterations in Medicaid expansion and federal participation
  • repeal of several industry taxes that generate a substantial share of the revenue used to pay for the ACA’s coverage expansion.

With House passage secured, the administration and Senate Republicans are wasting no time beginning what will likely be a tedious and lengthy quest to capture 50 votes in the Senate. The summary lays out some of the key players in health policy in the Senate and issues that they will need to tackle in order to advance AHCA to the finish line.

Click here to read the full overview of the AHCA, including the adopted amendments and substantive polices outlined therein, as well as the available CBO cost estimates.

Contact Information

If you have any questions concerning this alert, please contact:

G. Hunter Bates
Partner
hbates@akingump.com
+1 202.887.4147
Washington, D.C.

John F. Jonas
Partner
jjonas@akingump.com
+1 202.887.4205
Washington, D.C.

Ladd A. Wiley
Consultant
lwiley@akingump.com
+1 202.887.4083
Washington, D.C.

M. Todd Tuten
Senior Policy Advisor
ttuten@akingump.com
+1 202.887.4203
Washington, D.C.

Lauren B. O'Brien
Senior Policy Advisor
lauren.obrien@akingump.com
+1 202.887.4046
Washington, D.C.

Kendall B. Hussey
Policy Advisor
khussey@akingump.com
+1 202.416.5207
Washington, D.C.

Rachel Claire Kurzweil
Associate
rkurzweil@akingump.com
+1 202.887.4253
Washington, D.C.

Beth Collins
Consultant
bcollins@akingump.com
+1 202.887.4321
Washington, D.C.