Our Firm
Our Firm - Diversity & Inclusion

Diversity Committees

Akin Gump has a two-tiered Diversity Committee system, with both a firmwide committee and local office committees. The makeup of both reflects the diversity within Akin Gump and our ardent dedication to strengthening our culture of inclusion. Karol Kepchar, an intellectual property partner, chairs the firmwide committee.

Seizing the Initiative

Akin Gump’s diversity committees at the office and firmwide levels offer the opportunity for lawyers and personnel to proactively communicate questions, concerns and ideas to firm management and to recommend additional means by which the diversity of the firm can be enhanced. The local diversity committees in the U.S. offices are responsible for the development and implementation of diversity-related initiatives for their location or region and for coordinating their diversity efforts in furtherance of the firm’s diversity goals.

To ensure that Akin Gump’s diversity and inclusion initiatives continue to thrive and expand, committee members develop and participate in diversity-related outreach to clients, lateral candidates, law schools and law school students, and the not-for-profit community. They continually participate in outreach opportunities at law schools, work on innovative initiatives to retain and promote minority and female attorneys, seek out community partnerships and focus on internal measures and programming that vigorously promote an inclusive culture.

The firmwide diversity committee is composed of the following partners and administrative personnel—

  • Carlos Bermudez
  • Allison Binney
  • David Botter 
  • Chip F. Cowell
  • Katherine M. Katchen        
  • Karol A. Kepchar, Chair
  • Kim Koopersmith
  • Lacy Lawrence 
  • Trey M. Muldrow III
  • Anthony T. Pierce
  • Marissa Román Griffith
  • Emma Simmonds
  • Lucas Torres
  • Bryna Beckler Knoll, Esq., Senior Manager – Attorney Recruiting & Diversity
  • Aleisha Gravit, Chief Marketing and Business Development Officer
  • Louisa Heller, Director of Attorney Development
  • Sally King, Chief Operating Officer
  • Lauren Marsh, Director of Attorney Recruiting
  • Meg Meserole, Chief Human Resources Officer
  • Maggie Sinnott, Special Assistant to the Chairperson